1. Home
  2. Prizes


The  AAUS awards annual prizes in three categories: Prize for the Best Book and Prize for the Best Article in the field of Ukrainian history, politics, language, literature and culture, and Prize for Best Translation from Ukrainian into English. While nominations and self-nominations do not require AAUS membership, prize winners must be current members of the AAUS to receive the award. Awards are usually presented at the AAUS business meeting held during the Association for the Study of Nationalities (ASN) annual convention which takes place in early May at Columbia University in New York City.

The winners of the latest round (2017-2018) of prizes selected in the Spring of 2019 were:

The 2017-2018 Prize Winners:

Book prize:
Winner: Serhiy Bilenky, Imperial Urbanism in the Borderlands: Kyiv, 1800-1905 (University of Toronto Press, 2017)
Honorable mention: Marci Shore, The Ukrainian Night: An Intimate History of Revolution (Yale University Press, 2018)

Article prize:
Jennifer Carroll,  “Sovereign Rules and Rearrangements: Banning Methadone in Occupied Crimea,” Medical Anthropology (2018), v. 38, no. 6, pp. 508-522.

Translation prize:
Winner: My Final Territory: Selected Essays by Yuri Andrukhovych, edited by Michael M. Naydan and translated by Mark Andryczyk and Michael M. Naydan (University of Toronto Press, 2018)
Honorable mention: The White Chalk of Days: The Contemporary Ukrainian Literature Series Anthology, compiled and edited by Mark Andryczyk (Academic Studies Press, 2017)