1. Home
  2. General AAUS News
  3. AAUS 2018-2019 Book Prize winners announced!

AAUS 2018-2019 Book Prize winners announced!

The AAUS is pleased to announce the outcome of its annual Book Prize competition and to congratulate the honorands! The AAUS Book Prize Committee awarded the 2018-2019 AAUS Book Prize for the best scholarly monograph-length work in Ukrainian studies to:

Winner: Andriy Zayarnyuk, "Lviv's Uncertain Destination: A City and Its Train Terminal from Franz Joseph I to Brezhnev" (University of Toronto Press, 2019).

Two monographs received Honorable Mention (alphabetical):

Honorable Mention: Tamara Hundorova, "The Post-Chornobyl Library: Ukrainian Postmodernism of the 1990s" (Academic Studies Press, 2019).

Honorable Mention: Jeffrey S. Kopstein and Jason Wittenberg, "Intimate Violence: Anti-Jewish Pogroms on the Eve of the Holocaust" (Cornell University Press, 2019).

The AAUS is delighted to recognize these outstanding contributions to Ukrainian studies and thanks members of the selection committee for their hard work.